Online Store Hospitality Buy Tickets

City progress to first round of Cup

20th October 2018
Match Result
Blyth Spartans Logo
Blyth Spartans
York City Logo
York City
Croft Park
Saturday 20th Oct - 15:00

Jordan Burrow scored the only goal of the game as City beat Blyth Spartans and progressed to the first round proper of the Emirates FA Cup.

Burrow took his goal tally to six in the last six games when converting a cross from Macaulay Langstaff at the near post after just 11 minutes at Croft Park.

Blyth goalkeeper Peter Jameson saved a second half penalty from Sean Newton but City also had to defend doggedly and show real character to hold onto their lead in this fourth qualifying round tie.

Goalkeeper Adam Bartlett produced a finger-tip save to deny Michael Liddle just after the interval, Joe Tait blocked a close-range shot from Dan Maguire, and a close range shot from Robert Dale was deflected over the bar in the final two minutes.

Manager Sam Collins had made four changes to his side with Kallum Griffiths, Joe Tait, Tom Allan, Langstaff replacing Nathan Dyer, Hamza Bencherif, David Ferguson, and Jake Wright.

Blyth pushed hard for an equaliser and Bartlett dived to beat away a shot from Connor Oliver in the first half.

City were coming under intense pressure but a tactical switch by Collins after 58 minutes - who introduced substitute Bencherif as a third centreback - made a massive difference and helped to nullify the Blyth threat.

City won a penalty just a few minutes after the switch when Man of the Match Russ Penn was tripped in the area by Connor Oliver.

Defender Newton, who had scored City's last penalty against Guiseley, stepped up for the kick but his effort was saved low to his right by goalkeeper Jameson.

Burrow, meanwhile, had been unlucky not to double City's lead in the 53rd minute but his close-range shot from a tight angle was blocked on the line by defender Alex Nicholson.

York City: Bartlett; Griffiths, Tait, Allan, Newton; Penn; Law (Bencherif 58), Heslop; Harris (York 90+3); Burrow, Langstaff (Moke 71). Unused substitutes: Wright, Dyer, Whitley, Parkin.

Blyth Spartans: Jameson; Nicholson, Liddle (Rivers 86), Oliver, Laing, J.Watson, Holmes (Wrightson 70), Mullen (Fewster 80), Maguire, Reid, Dale (C). Unused substitutes: Horner, I.Watson, Brotherton, Skirpan.

Referee: David McNamara

Attendance: 1378

Booked: Newton, Heslop, Moke (City)


Can't find what you're looking for? Try searching.

Search form


Search form

Sign up to our newsletter to receive the latest updates!